News

ICEFAT CELEBRATES ITS 40th ANNIVERSARY IN GENEVA

ICEFAT CELEBRATES ITS 40th ANNIVERSARY IN GENEVA

In honour of the 40th anniversary of ICEFAT, we spoke with Isabelle Riedo, Director of Operations at Fine Art Transports Natural Le Coultre, and Daniel Blum, Deputy Director of Fine Art Transports Natural Le Coultre.

ICEFAT recently celebrated its 40th anniversary. What does the organisation represent for you today and how does it benefit your clients ?

Isabelle Riedo :  ICEFAT has always promoted the highest standards in all aspects of fine-art logistics. This includes everything from advisory, logistics and customs services to ensuring ideal warehousing conditions and suitable transportation, providing assistance with exhibitions and auctions, and supervising transfers on the tarmac. And the list goes on. The Association encourages each member to provide museum-grade services, which are required by museums for masterpieces and entail meticulous attention to detail every step of the way.

Daniel Blum :  ICEFAT gives us worldwide access to other firms, whose support we can count on for any operation involving logistics or customs. Members are carefully selected and must meet a number of stringent criteria. The network is also a valuable forum for sharing best practices and quality standards.

The convention celebrating ICEFAT’s 40th anniversary recently took place in Geneva. What up-and-coming trends do you believe will impact your profession in future ?

Isabelle Riedo :  Two main trends came to the fore during our discussions. The first touched on the establishment of a universal quality standard for all members, while the second examined the growth of the e-market, whose impact, albeit limited so far, is poised to take off.

Daniel Blum :  Quality standards, which have begun with the standardisation of packaging materials and sharing of best practices, are extraordinarily useful. They are much more difficult to implement, however, when it comes to warehousing and transport, as the conditions and prices in China, for example, differ substantially from those in Europe or the United States. Nevertheless, we are confident that certain standards will be established.

Let’s talk about the e-market. What does this encompass and what major changes do you expect ?

Isabelle Riedo :  We observe that works of art are already bought and sold online. That is nothing new. But packaging, transport, insurance, installation and customs services for such valuables are difficult to assess. As a result, they are not readily available through online platforms. This is without a doubt a challenge we will have to address in future.

Daniel Blum :  The e-market for these services is currently limited by the complexity of the documents and the guarantees required of a transporter once the purchase price exceeds a certain threshold. Or the object in question may require an export licence, special cultural-asset certification or a Cites certificate, which can throw a spanner in your timeline. On top of that, you have to take into consideration the size and fragility of each work of art individually. Confidentiality is also a major concern, and some lenders and collectors set out specific requirements that must be taken into account when transporting their valuables.

Isabelle Riedo, Director of Operations Fine Art Transport Natural Le Coultre
Daniel Blum, Deputy Director Fine Art Transport Natural Le Coultre
Fine Art Transport Natural Le Coultre, Geneva

ICEFAT

ICEFAT (the International Convention of Exhibition and Fine Art Transporters) is the leading trade federation for fine art transportation and warehousing. Its 70 members, representing 33 countries, specialise in handling and transporting works of art, antiquities and otherwise historical artefacts. Their client base ranges from museums, galleries and dealers to institutional and private collectors and auction houses.

Actualités

40e ANNIVERSAIRE D’ICEFAT A GENEVE

40e ANNIVERSAIRE D’ICEFAT A GENEVE

A l’occasion du 40e anniversaire d’ICEFAT, rencontre avec Isabelle Riedo, Directeur d’Exploitation de Fine Art Transport Natural Le Coultre et Daniel Blum, Directeur Adjoint de Fine Art Transport Natural Le Coultre

ICEFAT fête ses 40 ans, qu’est-ce que ICEFAT pour vous aujourd’hui ? Quels sont ses avantages pour vos clients ?

Isabelle Riedo :  ICEFAT est une association qui a toujours eu pour objectif de promouvoir les meilleurs standards dans tous les domaines associés à la logistique d’œuvres d’art: assistance et conseils, logistique, formalités et services douaniers, conditions idéales d’entreposage, moyens et conditions de transport, assistance lors d’expositions et de ventes aux enchères, surveillance des transferts tarmac, etc. L’association encourage chaque membre à fournir une qualité de service de niveau “muséal”, c’est à dire des prestations réservées aux chefs d’œuvres, souvent présents dans des musées, qui demandent une attention particulière dans toutes les opérations à effectuer.

Daniel Blum :  ICEFAT offre un réseau mondial d’agents sur lesquels nous pouvons nous appuyer pour toutes les opérations qui nécessitent une intervention logistique ou douanière. De nombreux critères sont évalués lors de la sélection des membres et cela nous donne des garanties. C’est aussi une source importante d’échange de “best practices” et de standards de qualité.

La réunion qui marque le 40e anniversaire d’ICEFAT à Genève vient de se terminer. Quelles grandes tendances à venir on pu être identifiées pour le futur de votre profession selon vous ?

Isabelle Riedo :  Deux tendances principales se sont manifestées lors de nos discussions. D’une part les réflexions liées à l’établissement d’une norme de qualité commune, sorte de standard de qualité universel pour l’ensemble des membres, et d’autre part le développement du e-market qui n’a encore qu’un impact très limité sur la marche de nos affaires, mais qui pourrait grandir rapidement.

Daniel Blum :  Les normes de qualité sont un exercice très intéressant qui a débuté avec la base commune de matériaux d’emballage et l’échange de “best practice”. En revanche, lors de la recherche d’uniformisation de conditions d’entreposage et de standards de transports, nous nous sommes heurtés à la disparité des conditions et des prix pratiqués par exemple en Chine en comparaison aux standards européens ou américains. Néanmoins, nous sommes convaincus que certains standards vont finir par émerger.

Parlons donc de e-market. Qu’est ce que cela englobe et quelles sont les principales évolutions auxquelles s’attendre ?

Isabelle Riedo :  Nous sommes conscients que la vente d’œuvres d’art on-line augmente. Cependant, les services d’emballage, de transport, d’assurance, d’installation ou encore les formalités douanières sont complexes à évaluer pour des objets de grande valeur, raison pour laquelle ces services ne sont que modérément disponibles sur internet. C’est certainement le défi de l’avenir.

Daniel Blum :  Les limites de l’exercice sont aujourd’hui liées à la complexité des procédures et des garanties à fournir par le transporteur à partir de certaines valeurs d’achat. Il se peut également que l’objet en question soit soumis à certificat de bien culturel ou encore à licence d’exportation, voire à certificat Cites pour lesquels les délais sont parfois difficiles à estimer. De plus, les particularités et la fragilité des objets sont à prendre en considération individuellement pour chaque œuvre. Enfin, il y a des questions pratiques incontournables et il est parfois nécessaire de tenir compte des exigences des prêteurs ou des collectionneurs qui peuvent modifier considérablement le prix de certaines prestations.

Isabelle Riedo, Directeur d’Exploitation de Fine Art Transport Natural Le Coultre
Daniel Blum, Directeur Adjoint de Fine Art Transport Natural Le Coultre
Fine Art Transport Natural Le Coultre, Genève

ICEFAT

ICEFAT (International Convention of Exhibition and Fine Art Transporters) est la principale association de professionnels actifs dans le transport et l’entreposage d’objets de grande valeur. Elle regroupe 70 membres présents dans 33 pays spécialisés dans les services de manutention et de transport d’œuvres d’art, d’antiquités et autres objets historiques auprès d’une clientèle de musées, galeries, marchands, collectionneurs privés et institutionnels, ainsi que de maisons de ventes aux enchères.